Jury 2014

Erwin Wurm | Chairman

Erwin Wurm was born in Austria and is one of the most successful artists in contemporary art. After numerous works and curated exhibitions, Erwin Wurm got the Grand Austrian State Prize in 2013. Photo: (c) Michael Wurm

Yves von Ballmoos

For more than 15 years, Yves von Ballmoos managed the traditional furnishing store Zingg-Lamprecht in Zurich/Switzerland and two other locations. The studied business economist founded in 2009 also the interest group „Design Moebel Schweiz“, which represents about 50% of the Swiss Design Furniture Market.

Norbert Philipp

Worked for many years as a conceptionist in advertising and publicity agencies. Since 2008 journalist at the daily newspaper „Die Presse“ in Austria, with a focus on topics from the field of architecture and creative industries. Since 2011 he is also responsible for editorial topics design and living in the insert „Schaufenster“.

Dieter Hofmann

Founder and organizer of the design-fair blickfang for more than 20 years, with his team in 7 cities in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Denmark. The fair presents furniture, jewellery and fashion from young, international designers apart from mass-produced goods and mass production.

Lilli Hollein

Curator and journalist in the area of architecture and design and commission agent of the Austrian contribution to the 7th Architecture Biennial festival Sao Paulo. Founded the Vienna Design Week in 2007 and is now co-directress of the festival with Tulga Beyerle.

Thomas Feichtner

Internationally established product designer. Many of his works has been distinguished and has been acquired by various design collections. Professor of product design at the Muthesius Academy of Fine Arts and Design and in 2011, he was awarded the Austrian design prize. He lives and works in Vienna.

Joerg Suermann

Joerg Suermann is the CEO of DMY Berlin, an international design network for contemporary product design, which grants awards annually for excellent projects and international exhibitions and gives visibility to innovative projects and products that go beyond the mainstream.

Desirée Treichl-Stürgkh

Desirée Treichl-Stürgkh is H.O.M.E. publisher and editor in chief as well as organizer of the annual H.O.M.E. Depot in Vienna. She serves on the editorial staff at different magazines and since 2007, she has been the organizer of the Vienna Opera Ball, as well.

Marcus Fairs

Dezeen was started in 2006 by Marcus Fairs, author of Twenty-First Century Design and former founding editor of Icon Magazine. Dezeen has grown rapidly and become one of the most popular and influential architecture and design blogs on the internet.

Eberhard Schrempf

As manager of the CIS (Creative Industries Styria), he developed the network of the creative industries in Styria and conducted the application management for Graz as UNESCO City of Design.

Dr. Gerald Bast

Since 2000, he has been the rector of the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. He is the vice president of Universities Austria and author on the subjects university rights and management as well as art and cultural politics.

Prof. Frank Zebner

Prof. Frank Zebner has been at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach since 2008. Industrial designer, and for many years, and advisor for international brands such as BMW, Gaggenau, Meiko and Siemens.

Thomas D. Meier

Thomas D. Meier was appointed as the rectorof the Zurich University of the Arts. He is involved in cultural politics as well as different international networks.

Johann Heil

Johann Heil is the artistic authority of Neue Wiener Werkstaette and responsible for design, product development and exhibition and fair planning. Among others, he designed Allegro, Johan, Mirabelle and Nuovo for NWW.


31.7.2017 23:59