The Jury 2017

All submitted works will be evaluated by an independent, international panel of expert judges coming from the fields of design, culture, media, colleges and business.

The composition of the jury will be published entirely before the end of the deadline for submissions here.

Karim Rashid | Chairman

Karim Rashid is one of the most prolific designers of his generation. Over 3000 designs in production, over 300 awards and working in over 35 countries attest to Karim’s legend of design. His work is featured in 20 permanent collections and he exhibits art in galleries world wide.

Univ. Prof. Christoph Kaltenbrunner

Heads the Department dae (Design, Architecture and Environment) at the University of Applied Arts Vienna since 2014. During serveral international exchanges he established with university friends the internationally successful architecture office "propeller z".

Prof. Hansuli Matter

Hansuli Matter has been head of the Department of Design of the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) since 2014 and is a member of the university management. He also founded the ITZ at the University of Design and Art in Zurich, and from 2006 to 2014, he was responsible for the Bachelor of Arts in Design.

Tobias Lutz

After studying architecture at ETH Zurich, Tobias Lutz and his business partner Nils Becker founded Architonic. The online database www.architonic.com has established itself as an ecosystem and intermediary between dealers, manufacturers, architects, builders and end-users over the past 13 years. To this day, Tobias Lutz is the Managing Director and responsible for Marketing and Sales.

Prof. Dr. Thomas D. Meier

Prof. Dr. Thomas D. Meier was appointed as the rectorof the Zurich University of the Arts (zhdk). He is involved in cultural politics as well as different international networks. During the NWW Design Award 2017 he will be represented by his colleague Hansuli Matter.

Marina Woschni

Is managing the company Neue Werkstaetten in Munich and is the interface between manufacturers, designers and customers. Since 2008, the interior designer directs the team together with Johann Klopsch. The renowned Munich planning office designs interiors especially for private houses. Her weakness: the inspired change in style.

Thomas Feichtner

Internationally established product designer. Many of his works has been distinguished and has been acquired by various design collections like MAK Vienna and Hofmobiliendepot. In 2011 he was awarded with the Austrian design prize. He lives and works in Vienna.

Lilli Hollein

Curator and journalist in the area of architecture and design and commission agent of the Austrian contribution to the 7th Architecture Biennial festival in Sao Paulo. Founded the Vienna Design Week in 2007 and is now directress of this Viennese design festival.

Eberhard Schrempf

As manager of the CIS (Creative Industries Styria), he developed the network of the creative industries in Styria and conducted the application management for Graz as UNESCO City of Design.

Dieter Hofmann

Founder and organizer of the design-fair blickfang for more than 20 years, with his team in 7 cities in Europe. The blickfang-fair presents furniture, jewellery and fashion from young, international designers apart from mass-produced goods and mass production.

Karin Polzhofer

It was her great-grandfather, who founded the joinery KAPO in 1927. Now KAPO produces furniture and upholstery under the international brand "Neue Wiener Werkstätte". With her brothers Stefan and Karl-Hans Polzhofer she continued the company into the fourth generation.

Prof. Frank Zebner

Prof. Frank Zebner has been at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach since 2008. Industrial designer, and for many years, and advisor for international brands such as BMW, Gaggenau, Meiko and Siemens.

To be continued...

The composition of the jury will be published entirely in the next months here...


30.6.2017 23:59